The SSC, responsible for SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2024, has updated the exam structure. In 2024, SSC CGL Exam Pattern will consist of two tiers, as opposed to the previous four. SSC CGL Exam 2024 Tier 1 is scheduled for Sep-Oct 2024. SSC CGL Exam 2024 Tier 2 now involves three papers and includes the Data Entry Speed Test (DEST), to be taken during this tier. Previously, there were four Tier 2 papers, each with its DEST. Additionally, the Document Verification (DV) stage has been eliminated, now taking place upon a candidate's appointment.

The SSC CGL Tier 1 exam will comprise 100 multiple-choice questions covering General Intelligence and Reasoning, General Awareness, Quantitative Aptitude, and English Comprehension, with 25 questions per section. The exam, lasting 1 hour, will be conducted online, except for English Comprehension. All applicants must attend the SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam.

In SSC CGL Tier 2, candidates must take Paper I, while Paper II is specific to those applying for Junior Statistical Officer (JSO) positions. Paper III is for Assistant Audit Officer/Assistant Accounts Officer applicants.

Let’s Briefly Discuss about SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2024 for Tier 1 & Tier 2

SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2024: Tier 1

The SSC CGL Exam Tier 1 is an online test with four sections, including 100 Multiple Choice Questions, totaling a maximum score of 200. Candidates have 60 minutes to finish the exam.The Tier 1 exam serves solely as a qualifying stage, and its scores are not considered in the final selection procedure.

The sections covered from which questions are drawn for the SSC CGL Tier 1 exam are:

  • General Intelligence Reasoning
  • General Awareness
  • Quantitative Aptitude
  • English Comprehension

SSC CGL Exam Pattern for Tier-1

SSC CGL Exam Pattern

Tier-I Exam

Exam Type

Objective Multiple Choice

Exam Duration

60 minutes/ 1 hour

Exam Mode

Online Computer Based Test (CBT)


1. General Intelligence and Reasoning

2. General Awareness

3. Quantitative Aptitude

4. English Comprehension

Total Marks


Number of Questions


Negative Marking

0.50 marks (For every incorrect answer options)


English/Hindi (Except English Paper)

SSC CGL 2024 Tier 1 : Marking Scheme 


SSC CGL Tier-I Sections & Subjects Number of Questions Sectional Marks Duration 
Part A: General Intelligence Reasoning 25 50 60 Minutes(1 Hour)
  1 hour and 20 minutes for the candidates eligible for scribe
Part B: General Awareness 25 50
Part C: Quantitative Aptitude 25 50
Part D: English Comprehension 25 50
Total 100 200

SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2024: Tier 2

The SSC CGL Exam Pattern for Tier 2 is conducted in 3 phases. Paper 1, Paper 2 and Paper 3. Paper 1 is compulsory for all positions, Paper 2 is exclusively for candidates applying for the Junior Statistical Officer (JSO) position in the Ministry of Statistics, and Paper 3 is solely for applicants for the Assistant Audit Officer/Assistant Accounts Officer role. Performance in SSC CGL Tier 2 will serve as the basis for final selection for the vacancies announced through the SSC CGL Exam. Paper 1 allows a maximum of 2.5 hours, Paper 2 allows 2 hours, and Paper 3 allows 2 hours for completion.

Let’s discuss all three papers in details:

SSC CGL Exam Pattern for Tier 2: Overview 

Paper 1




No. of Questions




Section 1

Module 1

Mathematical Abilities




1 hour

Module 2

Reasoning and General Intelligence




Section II

Module 1

English Language and Comprehension




1 hour

Module 2

General Awareness




Section III

Module 1

Computer Knowledge Test




15 minutes


Data Entry Speed Test

One Data Entry Task



15 minutes

Paper 2





2 hours

Paper 3

General Studies (Finance

and Economics)




2 hours

SSC CGL Exam Pattern : Tier 2 Paper 1

SSC CGL 2024 Exam Tier 2 Paper 1 consists three sections. Section I comprises a total of 180 marks, with 30 questions on Mathematical Abilities totaling 90 marks and 30 questions on Reasoning and General Intelligence totaling 90 marks. Section II totals 210 marks, comprising 45 questions on English Language and Comprehension totaling 135 marks, and 25 questions on general awareness totaling 75 marks. Section III includes 20 questions on a computer knowledge test totaling 60 marks and one Data Entry task.

SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2024: Tier 2 Paper 2

SSC CGL 2024 Exam Tier Paper 2 covers statistics, comprising 100 questions worth a total of 200 marks. Candidates have a maximum of 2 hours to complete this paper.

SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2024: Tier 2 Paper 3

SSC CGL Exam Tier 2 Paper 3 covers General Studies (Finance & Economics), containing 100 questions totaling 200 marks. Candidates have a maximum of 2 hours to complete this paper.

SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2024: Tier 1 & Tier 2 Negative Marking

SSC CGL 2024 Tier Paper Marks Awarded per Question Section Negative Marking
SSC CGL Tier-1 1 Paper 2 4 0.5
SSC CGL Tier-2 3 Paper Paper 1: 3 Marks Section-I,
Module-I of Section-III
1 mark
Paper 2: 2 Marks 1 0.50 marks
Paper 2: 2 Marks 1 0.50 marks

SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2024: Data Entry Skill Test (DEST) 

Candidates who qualify for the SSC CGL 2024 Tier 2 exams will need to undergo the Data Entry Speed Test (DEST) during Paper 1. As per the updated SSC CGL 2024 exam pattern, DEST will serve as Paper II of Module 3. During this test, candidates will be presented with a passage comprising approximately 2,000 key depressions, for which they will have 15 minutes to showcase their data entry skills.

The SSC CGL DEST is mandatory for all positions, albeit it will be considered qualifying in nature. Detailed instructions regarding the Skill Test will be communicated by the Regional Offices of the Commission.

Participants in the SSC CGL 2024 under the OH category will be exempt from the DEST requirement. Additionally, PwBD candidates eligible for scribes will receive an extra 5 minutes for the skill test.


The SSC CGL Exam Pattern has been revised as per the SSC CGL 2024 notification.

According to the updated SSC CGL examination format, the descriptive section has been eliminated from the selection process.

For the SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam, each incorrect answer incurs a penalty of 0.50 marks. In Paper 1 of the Tier 2 Exam, each incorrect answer deducts 1 mark, while in Papers II and III, 0.50 marks are deducted for every incorrect answer.

The maximum time given for SSC CGL Tier 1 examination is 1 hour or 60 minutes.

The time limit for Paper 1 is 2 hours 30 mins and for Paper 2 & 3 is 120 Minutes

Chat With Us