List of High Courts: Jurisdiction & Chief Justice

logo class24
Best Online Coaching Platform

The administration system of India has been divided into three pillars i.e. Legislature, Executives, and Judiciary. In India, the Judiciary system of independent organs and other organs of the government cannot interfere with the functioning of the judiciary. In India, the judiciary system has been mainly categorized into three parts i.e. Supreme Court (the topmost court of India), High Court, and District Court. In this article, we will discuss the list of High Courts: Jurisdiction & Chief Justice.

High Courts of India: Articles 214 & 231

As per Article 214 of the Indian Constitution, each state of India shall have a High Court.

While Article 231, mentions that there can be a common High Court for two or more States or two or more states and a union territory.

In India, as of now, there are 25 High Courts in India, out of which six have control over more than one State/UT.

Among the Union Territories (UTs), Delhi has a High Court of its own.

Each High Court shall consist of a Chief Justice and such other judges, which are appointed by the President of India.

High Courts of India: Oldest and Latest High Court

Calcutta High Court is the oldest high court in India, which was created in 1862.

Andhra High Court and Telangana High Court are the newest high court in India, which was created in 2019.

High Courts of India: Largest & Smallest High Court

The largest High Court in India is Allahabad High Court with the total strength of160 judges.

The smallest High Court in India is Sikkim High Court, with the total strength of 3 judges.

High Courts of India: Jurisdiction over more than one state/s or Union Territory

As of now, High Courts having jurisdiction over more than one state/s or Union Territory are 6, which are Bombay, Kolkata, Madras, Guwahati, Kerala, and Punjab & Haryana High Court.

  • Bombay High Court: Maharashtra, Dadar and Nagar Haveli, Daman, Diu, and Goa

  • Kolkata High Court: West Bengal and Andaman & Nicobar Islands

  • Madras High Court: Tamil Nadu and Pondicherry

  • Guwahati High Court: Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram, and Arunachal Pradesh.

  • Kerala High Court: Kerala and Lakshadweep Islands

  • Punjab & Haryana High Court: Punjab, Haryana, and Chandigarh

List of High Courts: Jurisdiction & Chief Justice



Chief Justice

Allahabad High Court

Uttar Pradesh

Manoj Kumar Gupta (Acting)

Andhra Pradesh High Court

Andhra Pradesh

Dhiraj Singh Thakur

Bombay High Court


Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, 


Devendra Kumar Upadhyaya

Calcutta High Court

Andaman and Nicobar Islands,

West Bengal

T. S. Sivagnanam

Chhattisgarh High Court


Ramesh Sinha

Delhi High Court


Manmohan (Acting)

Gauhati High Court

Arunachal Pradesh




Lanusungkum Jamir (Acting)

Gujarat High Court


Sunita Agarwal

Himachal Pradesh High Court

Himachal Pradesh

M. S. Ramachandra Rao

Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh High Court

Jammu and Kashmir


N. Kotiswar Singh

Jharkhand High Court


Shree Chandrashekhar (Acting)

Karnataka High Court


Prasanna B. Varale

Kerala High Court

Kerala, Lakshadweep

Ashish Jitendra Desai

Madhya Pradesh High Court

Madhya Pradesh

Ravi Malimath

Madras High Court


Tamil Nadu

Sanjay V. Gangapurwala

Manipur High Court


Siddharth Mridul

Meghalaya High Court


Hamarsan Singh Thangkhiew

Orissa High Court


Bidyut Ranjan Sarangi

Patna High Court


K. Vinod Chandran

Punjab and Haryana High Court




Ritu Bahri

Rajasthan High Court


Manindra Mohan Shrivastava (Acting)

Sikkim High Court


Biswanath Somadder

Telangana High Court


Alok Aradhe

Tripura High Court


Aparesh Kumar Singh

Uttarakhand High Court


Manoj Kumar Tiwari


1. How many numbers of High Courts are there in India?

Ans 25

2. Which is the oldest High Court in India?

Ans: Calcutta High Court was established in 1862.

3. Which is the smallest high court in India?

Ans: The Sikkim High Court was established in 1975.

4. Which High Court has a maximum number of judges?

Ans: Allahabad High Court (160 Judges)